x86-based or x64-based version, how can I tell?
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: x86-based or x64-based version, how can I tell?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    35

    x86-based or x64-based version, how can I tell?

    Greetings,

    My pc had to shutdown and restart while coming out of sleep mode (at least that is the message I received). This is the third or fourth same message I have received in as many weeks. It then advised me to click on a link where I may be able to download a fix for this problem. The link took me to:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2547549#appliesto

    I now have to choose a Windows program fix based on whether or not my operating system is:

    a) All supported x86-based versions of Windows Vista or

    b) All supported x64-based versions of Windows Vista.

    Would someone please instruct me where and how I may find that information on my DELL Inspiron 9400 laptop please so that I can choose the correct one?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    7,138

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    35
    Midnyte, thanks for taking the time to post your reply. However I am unsure if you understood my question because I need to choose between two program fixes, one is for a x86-based version of Windows Vista and the other is for a x64-based versions of Windows Vista as per the link I supplied in my original post.

    Your reply discusses questions related to the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Windows and does show me how to find which one my pc uses but I do not think it is related to my question (or is it???).

    I know little about computers and that may explain why I fail to understand your reply. Could you shed some light on my dilemna please?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    12,608
    From Midknyte's Microsoft link:

    To find out if your computer is running a 32-bit or 64-bit version of Windows in Windows 7 or Windows Vista, do the following:

    1.Open System by clicking the Start button , right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties.

    2.Under System, you can view the system type.

    If your computer is running Windows XP, do the following:

    1.Click Start.

    2.Right-click My Computer, and then click Properties.

    •If you don't see "x64 Edition" listed, then you're running the 32-bit version of Windows XP.

    •If "x64 Edition" is listed under System, you're running the 64-bit version of Windows XP.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    35
    Thanks for your post jdc2000 but I still do not understand how the information regarding a 32-bit or 64-bit version of Windows Vista relates to my question concerning how do I identify whether my pc uses the x86-based version of Windows Vista or the x64-based version.

    Please pardon my ignorance of this subject but I need to choose between two Microsoft program fixes - one runs on the x86-based version of Windows Vista and the other on the x64-based version. How does knowing how to identify whether my pc operates on a 32-bit or 64-bit version of Windows Vista have anything to do with having to choose between a x86-based version or a x64-based version?

    By the way, using the info you and Midknyte provided, I was able to determine that my pc uses the 32-bit version of Vista but I still do not know which program fix to choose - the x86-based or x64-based version version of Vista. Do you know which one?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    12,608
    Use the x86 updates.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    7,138
    x86 = 32-bit
    x64 = 64-bit

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,808

    Click the Start orb, right-click Computer and select Properties.




    If you see "32-bit" like in this pic, you're running the 32-bit version of Windows Vista, so select "x86" over on Microsoft.





    If you see "64-bit" like in this pic, you're running the 64-bit version of Windows Vista, so select "x64" over on Microsoft.



  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    35
    Now I get it!

    I really appreciate everyone's help and especially your polite patience with me.

    Thank you very much Midknyte, jdc2000 and SpywareDr.


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,808
    Good to hear you got it figured out. Thanks for posting back.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •