[RESOLVED] Sata device not found!

Thread: [RESOLVED] Sata device not found!

Hybrid View

Resolved [RESOLVED] Sata device not found!

I tried to wipe my hdd and reinstall xp home sp2.Im not very good with computers at the best of times but i followed the instructions and deleted partition and created a new one.
    Windows started to install then stopped saying there was an error.
    On trying again it shows a message that sata device not found on primary or secondary.It allows me to go into the setup for the raid but then says there isnt enough space to create or something.
    After exiting that menu it shows a screen with alot of data about slave disk,master disk etc and at the bottom says "error loading operating system".

Any help gratefully appreciated as the shop I purchased it from want £100 to fix.

You sometimes need to install the SATA drivers during Windows Setup, depending on the motherboard. You'll need to put the drivers on a floppy disk, then almost as soon as Setup starts, at the bottom you should see a message about installing SCSI drivers - press F6 at that point. Setup will then tell you when it wants the floppy, and after that it will see the drive and you can partition and format it.
    Nick.

Quote Originally Posted by SuperSparks View Post

You sometimes need to install the SATA drivers during Windows Setup, depending on the motherboard. You'll need to put the drivers on a floppy disk, then almost as soon as Setup starts, at the bottom you should see a message about installing SCSI drivers - press F6 at that point. Setup will then tell you when it wants the floppy, and after that it will see the drive and you can partition and format it.
    Ithink its a bit more serious than that as my computer will not boot the windows install when i turn it on.All it does is:1 shows pge where you can press tab to go to post screen or del to go to set up.
    2 Then shows page that says "sata device not found primary"