System/PCI Frequency
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: System/PCI Frequency

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    10

    System/PCI Frequency

    i was looking for a simple pc for my gmother, u know, email and stuff.

    i got hooked up with some old p3 parts and put it together. the parts included the pIII intel chip (w/heatsink and fan). i've got it put together but it boots to the bios and wants the "system/pci frequency".

    i've done a lot of surfing but can't find anything about it.

    the mobo is an asus cuv4x-c with an award bios.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    427
    OK..

    Shouldn't that be set to Auto? If set manually then we will need to know a bit more about the CPU.. PIII what.. XXXMHz will be a starter

    Would be better if you Clear the CMOS or at the least set to default in the BIOS Setup .

    To Get into the BIOS setup tap the "Del" key just after the Memory, HDD ID test - Before the BOOT progresses to the information screen.

    Have a read of this document: http://www.motherboards.org/files/ma...cuv4xc-100.pdf
    you will need Acrobat reader
    Your wanting to read from page 54.
    The Name is not my Job.. It is my driving style..
    _ Currently Disgusted at Facebook's Nazi Admins_
    If they don't like your name they will delete your account without notice...
    und3rtak3r

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Elma,Wa.
    Posts
    50,085
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Elma,Wa.
    Posts
    50,085
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    10
    hi guys, i've got that pdf. it also says that I should set cpu to auto. unfortunately bios has no such setting, only 933 mhz, 700, 466 & manual and i've rebooted in all 4 settings.
    tried setting bios defaults, no good. will try removing cmos battery.... completely forgot that one.

    will report back, thks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    10
    success.... removed cmos for 20 min, rebooted, set frequency to 466 and it flashed up.

    now getting a blue screen: STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF894C528, 0xC0000034) and hard drive makes whinning sound. think it might be fried. i can pick one up fairly cheap tho.

    thks for the help guys.... unless u can solve the blue screen thing too!!

    cheers!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    7,264
    Did you move the hard drive from another system? 7B errors are common when the HALs don't match.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    10
    can't say for sure. hard drive was in a box with the rest of the parts, plus some of mine. it could have come from anywhere.

    is there a way of dealing with it?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    7,264

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •