hpzv5000 new memory wont boot
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: hpzv5000 new memory wont boot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    to close to Washington D.C.
    Posts
    2,269

    hpzv5000 new memory wont boot

    good morning,

    i recently reformatted my zv5420us and it was running fantastically (xp pro). i installed a cpu/memory monitor and noticed that it was running high in the memory department.

    i looked around and found some compatable ram. pny 1g 2700. ordered it. arrived today

    shutdown the laptop.

    opened the bottom hatch and pulled out the 256 that was in there and installed the 1g. closed everything up and rebooted.

    got 3 bluescreens/memory dumps. now it boots up ... goes past the f10 for boot options and then just sits at a black screen. the laptop is on but i dont hear anything else.

    replaced the 1g with the (original) 256. same thing.

    pulled out the 256 leaving the (under the keyboard) 256. same thing.

    ugh ... i violated my 'if its not broke dont mess with it rule' ... and i am reminded why i keep saying that to myself.

    any suggestions/comments are greatly appreciated.

    thanks in advance ... running.
    DI-614+;HP PSC2110;HP DJ855C;NOSTROMO;P-9;CLIE 655C;KVM2KIT;RARITAN CS4;QX3;IP-5

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    to close to Washington D.C.
    Posts
    2,269
    well i can boot off the xp disk

    went to recovery console (which ive never used) and it seemed to drop me at the c:\windows\ prompt

    rebooted and back to that black'ish screen (oh ... the fans are on also)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    to close to Washington D.C.
    Posts
    2,269
    update:

    i have put back the original ram into the machine. reinstalled the os.

    im going to try and get my money back for the PNY ram and ill just deal with 512-128(for the video card) ram that this system was designed to run with.

    anyone know of a good utility to check out the ram on your pc? possibly even some type of ram defragger or something?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,403
    http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp
    http://www.memtest86.com/

    If one program does not find a error, then run the other.
    If a error is found, then if you have more than one stick, test each one by itself to find the bad one(S). Yes it can be more than one stick that is bad.


    By the way, that is a classic example of what happens with non compatible ram.

    1. Can not boot
    2. Boots but you have all kinds of hair pulling errors.
    3. Runs fine - what every one wants to happen.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    to close to Washington D.C.
    Posts
    2,269
    thanks for the utilities ... running the windows one now.

    im 99% sure that the ram that i bought is compatible with my machine ... im convinced that it is bad.

    ill prolly get my machine back to where i want it and then image it and then buy some 'better' ram. or maybe ill just be thankful that it works again. prolly the latter.

    thanks for the links.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,600

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •