[RESOLVED] VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8367-8233 Motherboard
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: [RESOLVED] VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8367-8233 Motherboard

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    1,344

    Resolved [RESOLVED] VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8367-8233 Motherboard

    OK I only get two google hits when I put in the motherboard model for this system I have gotten secondhand. And neither one are any help really.

    I'm trying to find out about the motherboard. What I can do with it and what I can't do with it upgrade wise.

    Most info i've found is that it seems to be only a 4x agp setup.
    Something to do while waiting for long downloads. Atari Adventure

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    20,729
    Is there any other info on the mobo? Like a FDIC number or a Name?
    "Imagine a world where dogs took bad owners to the pound."

    http://www.hopeforpaws.org/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    1,344
    I don't remember seeing anything else like that on the motherboard. I didn't even find the model # from the motherboard. The model # info is coming from BelArc Advisor.


    I'll try to contact Via. In the meantime I'll snuffle around under the hood to see if I can find some a model #.
    Something to do while waiting for long downloads. Atari Adventure

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Illinois USA
    Posts
    951
    VT8367-8233 would be the chipset on the motherboard. Although Via does make motherboards, the model prefix will be something other than VT as that is reserved for their chipsets, LAN, video and audio chips. This system information tool is one of the best, System Information for Windows, SIW. Free download is linked on the menu bar on the main page here:
    http://www.gtopala.com/
    Install, run the utility. It should ID your board.
    You might also start a thread here:
    http://forums.viaarena.com/
    Jim
    Last edited by jseidel; September 3rd, 2007 at 10:23 PM.
    Cooler Master Elite 430
    Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
    Intel Core i5 2500K, 3.30 GHz
    ADATA 8 GB DDR3
    EVGA GTX 560 1GB PCIe
    Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
    1 TB Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM
    P/S: Corsair GS800
    Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit with Media Center
    . . . by Digital Storm

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ft Myers FL
    Posts
    8,509
    If you have a digital camera, upload a pic or two.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    1,344
    ok thanks guys. working on it.
    Something to do while waiting for long downloads. Atari Adventure

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    1,344
    Here's what System info for Windows said about my board:

    Property Value
    Model VT8367-8233

    Chipset Vendor VIA Technologies Inc
    Chipset Model VT8366/A,VT8367 Apollo KT266/A,KT333 CPU to PCI Bridge
    South Bridge VT8233A PCI to ISA Bridge
    SMBus VIA Technologies Inc VT8233A PCI to ISA Bridge @5000h

    CPU AMD Athlon XP
    Cpu Socket Socket A
    Processor Upgrade ZIF Socket

    System Slots 4 PCI, 1 AGP

    Memory Summary
    Location System board or motherboard
    Maximum Capacity 1024 MBytes
    Memory Slots 4
    Error Correction None
    Use System memory
    Maximum Memory Module Size 32 MBytes

    Warning! Accuracy of DMI data cannot be guaranteed
    Something to do while waiting for long downloads. Atari Adventure

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,816
    According to this page:your "VT8367-8233" is a EPoX "EP-8K5A3+". Which lead me to this EPoX page:(Note: S-l-o-w site).

    Does that look like your motherboard?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    1,344
    Yeah thanks! I think that's it! I'll have to check to be sure of course.

    How did you find that? I've looked for two weeks. I Didnt even have any luck on the Via website.
    Something to do while waiting for long downloads. Atari Adventure

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,816
    Quote Originally Posted by A31Chris

    Yeah thanks! I think that's it! I'll have to check to be sure of course.
    You're welcome.

    Quote Originally Posted by A31Chris

    How did you find that? I've looked for two weeks. I Didnt even have any luck on the Via website.
    When a Google search for "VT8367-8233" didn't seem to lead anywhere, I tried "VT8367" instead.

    Bingo, the first hit was "identify mainboard by EPoX" which revealed "EPoX" and "EP-8K5A3+".

    Back to Google to do a "site:epox.com EP-8K5A3+" search, which found all six EPoX.com web pages with "EP-8K5A3+" somewhere in them.



    Google Quick Ref
    http://www.googleguide.com/advanced_...reference.html

    Google Help Center
    http://www.google.com/intl/en/help/features.html

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    1,344
    Something to do while waiting for long downloads. Atari Adventure

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    1,344
    Thanks for your input guys. I need some more now though.

    This system has been apparently restarting all by itself every now and again. It use to do this before. Then the cpu fan went out and the entire machine wouldn't even start. After replacing the cpu fan its up and running again.

    However I will leave and come back and half the time the white desktop saying 'active desktop has been disabled' etc is on the monitor. Which indicates to me the machine restarted itself at some point. There are no apps running except Sygate Personal Firewall and perhaps the Opera web browser. Nothing that I am aware of that would cause the machine to restart by itself.

    It was suggested to me when systems begin to overheat they will reboot themselves.

    When I replaced the cpu fan I had accidently removed the heatsink. So upon replacing the heatsink I cleaned off the old thermal goop and followed the instructions in applying some new thermal goop and did the best I could to apply it evenly.

    the new cpu fan and all fans inside the system seem to be running well. I downloaded a cpu monitor called 'sensor view' to keep an eye on cpu temp etc. It's running around 106 - 108 degrees farenheit.

    There a fan called the sys fan that the bios and the monitor say isn't running. There are only 3 fans in my tower that I see and all 3 are running. The fan inside the PS. The cpu fan, and the fan attached to the tower that blows the heat out of the tower.

    Anyone have any ideas?
    Something to do while waiting for long downloads. Atari Adventure

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Elma,Wa.
    Posts
    50,037
    Using A nic?

    Check your bios, there maybe some settings in Power management Setup and/or H/W monitor that need changing.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    1,344
    Quote Originally Posted by Train
    Using A nic?

    Check your bios, there maybe some settings in Power management Setup and/or H/W monitor that need changing.
    Yeah i'm using a WG311 netgear wireless card.

    Alright, i'll try poking around in my NIC.

    It has only reset so far when I've been away from the system. I haven't caught it doing this myself. I only see the evidence after I leave somewhere and come back.

    Around what temp should cpus run at? whats the max etc? for AMD XP 1800 for instance.
    Something to do while waiting for long downloads. Atari Adventure

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    1,344
    How about if I got into the bios/cmos and tried resetting everythig to factory default? I'll go nose around now.
    Something to do while waiting for long downloads. Atari Adventure

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •