Can CMOS settings be saved or printed in XP?
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Can CMOS settings be saved or printed in XP?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    Posts
    14,484

    Can CMOS settings be saved or printed in XP?

    Can the CMOS settings of a WinXP PC be printed out to facilitate resetting (like when the battery dies)? (Of course if there were a program to save and restore the CMOS settings automatically, that would be even better. )
    There is an old program called Cmosget.com
    http://www.greggore.com/dln091802.htm
    But, I gather it uses DOS which I suspect will not work in XP.
    Jim
    WIN7 Ultimate SP1 64bit, IE 11, NTFS,
    cable, MS Security Essentials, Windows 7 firewall

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    North West England.
    Posts
    9,570
    You may be able to find something more specific at the motherboard manufacturers website, but this may help:

    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000391.htm


    Liam
    Desktop:I5 2500K|Asus P8Z68-V|8GB Corsair Vengeance|1280MB Nvidia 560 TI PE|1TB Seagate/60GB OCZ SSD|LG Blu-ray Writer|Corsair 750W
    27" iMac:I5 2500S|12GB Crucial DDR3|ATI 1GB 6970|1TB|Superdrive|Mighty Mouse

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    Posts
    14,484
    liam858--Thanks. The programs offered by that site do not seem applicable to WinXP, but I will have to investigate the statement "It is possible that the CMOS setup program may allow you to print the values of your CMOS setup. "

    And I'll have a look at the motherboard's site.

    Amazing how complicated Windows makes things.
    Jim
    WIN7 Ultimate SP1 64bit, IE 11, NTFS,
    cable, MS Security Essentials, Windows 7 firewall

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,802
    The CMOS settings are independent of whatever operating system might end up being installed on the system.

    One way to record the CMOS settings is to use a camera.

  5. #5
    buf's Avatar
    buf is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    4,645
    Have often thought that it would be nice to have a way of "saving" the BIOS settings. Excellent idea for the use of a camera Doc. Will try to remember that the very next time I need to go there!!
    BIOSTAR M7NCG 400 AMD 3000+ ULTRA 1 GB DDR RAM BenQ DW1620 INTERNAL DVD+/- RW/+- DL IE8 WIN XP PRO SP3 AND 1 80GB WD HDD and Viewsonic 19" LCD monitor Samsung Laser Print

    Compaq Presario CQ5210F Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit Athlon II X2 215(2.7GHz) Nvidia GeForce 6150SE 22" Envision LCD Monitor Brother HL2040 Laser Printer 500GB SATA HDD 3GB DDR2 Ram and NVIDIA nForce MCP61 Chipset Motherboard

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,802
    Quote Originally Posted by buf
    Have often thought that it would be nice to have a way of "saving" the BIOS settings. Excellent idea for the use of a camera Doc. Will try to remember that the very next time I need to go there!!
    Thanks, and you're welcome.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Hyde Park, NY
    Posts
    1,901
    Just a thought for you--what I have done for years--every Motherboard manual I have ever gotten has many pages explaining the BIOS settings. I make any changes I want and then put a pencil check mark by the settings I have. I use a pencil in case I make any changes in the future. Works well for me.
    Biostar TA790GX A2+ 6.0
    AMD Phenom X4 9750 CPU.
    4 Gig DDR2 Memory.
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    500 Watt P.S.
    LG W2241T Widescreen 22" LCD
    ViewSonic VA721 17" LCD
    Envision 17" LCD
    2 LG DVD Drives
    Floppy Disk Drive
    Maxtor 120 Gig Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit
    Gateway NV5378-U Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
    Acer Aspire V3-731 Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Elma,Wa.
    Posts
    50,036
    Stubby pencil works for me too.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    Posts
    14,484
    Thanks guys, regrettably Dell supplied no motherboard manual. And the Dell Forums all seem to say write down or photo the screen. (Print Screen will not work with a USB printer. I am not sure how to make PrintScreen actually print with a PC/2 connection printer anyway.)
    http://search.dell.com/results.aspx?...p&x=7&y=12&p=1
    At least this page shows Defaults
    http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...et.htm#1106146

    liam858--The CMOS.zip download from ComputerHope is 8-10 years old. I am a little leery abut using it. Has anyone else?
    Jim
    WIN7 Ultimate SP1 64bit, IE 11, NTFS,
    cable, MS Security Essentials, Windows 7 firewall

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    Posts
    14,484
    I tried the computerhope program, but I could not get it to work. It would not save the CMOS file. Too bad. It is a non-installable program and very easy to try.
    I found another program that sounds like it would work in WinXP.
    http://mindprod.com/products1.html#CMOSSV
    The bad news is that setting the thing up would probably take more time than just writing the settings down. The only advantage might be that it claims to also restore the settings.

    EDIT to post immediately above. I should have said Parallel printer connection and not PC/2.
    Last edited by Welshjim; August 9th, 2007 at 07:02 PM.
    Jim
    WIN7 Ultimate SP1 64bit, IE 11, NTFS,
    cable, MS Security Essentials, Windows 7 firewall

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •