Norton Ghost 2003 and SATA drives
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Norton Ghost 2003 and SATA drives

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Armadillo Country
    Posts
    3,996

    Norton Ghost 2003 and SATA drives

    I've been using Ghost 2003 for years with no problems at all. I've just installed a SATA drive on this XP Pro SP2 box and the Ghost screen comes up "blank" rather than what I am used to seeing. Is there is a Ghost switch that can be used for SATA drives, or is there a newer version of Ghost that needs to be obtained? Thanks!

    Limerick


  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    809
    It should work with this switch -FNI

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Armadillo Country
    Posts
    3,996
    Thank you for the reply. I tried the -FNI switch, but no joy. Ghost still starts up and hangs at the blank screen as before.

    I'll shift gears here. If anyone out there is successfully using Ghost with SATA drives, what version of the software are you using? Thanks!

    Limerick


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,393
    I too used Ghost for years, but I changed to Acronis True Image a while back. It is far better than Ghost ever was, and has no problems at all with SATA drives. I thoroughly recommend it.

    If you really want to stick with Ghost, then Ghost 9 or 10 should be OK, but they are really DriveImage rather than Ghost proper, and many folks are not impressed. Personally I always thought that DI was rubbish.

    Acronis True Image Home

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    809
    I have to agree with SuperSparks, but I know Ghost 2003 is compatible with Sata drives.
    From Symantec:
    Depending upon the mix of SATA and IDE drives installed to your system, one of the following switches should resolve the problem:
    If you have an IDE and an SATA drive, or only IDE drives:
    -FNI Forces Ghost to use the BIOS to gain access to the IDE drive.
    If you have an SATA drive and no IDE drives:
    -NOIDE Disables access to IDE devices.

    And the complete list of switches

  6. #6
    HAN's Avatar
    HAN is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,096
    Limerick: If you end having to dump Ghost 2003, and you like the basic look and feel of Ghost 2003, you might consider Image for DOS. http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/image.html

    It is very basic and has no eye candy, but it gets the job done. I have used it for almost 2 years (burning to DVD) and it has never failed me. I have restored from it many times (testing software and such.) One great feature is that you don't install it. It runs from the boot CD you create when you are first setting up. I highly recommend it!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Armadillo Country
    Posts
    3,996
    SuperSparks contributed the following:

    Quote Originally Posted by SuperSparks
    I too used Ghost for years, but I changed to Acronis True Image a while back. It is far better than Ghost ever was, and has no problems at all with SATA drives. I thoroughly recommend it.Acronis True Image Home
    Just got back from a trip and I appreciate finding the replies in this thread. I have thought of Acronis, and *seem to recall* that I read somewhere tht version 9 does not do SATA drives but that version 10 does. Do you know if this is correct? Thanks!

    Limerick

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,393
    I'm still using version 9 on both my PCs, which only have SATA drives in them, and there is no problem at all.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Armadillo Country
    Posts
    3,996
    HAN happened by and offered a thought or two:

    Quote Originally Posted by HAN
    Limerick: If you end having to dump Ghost 2003, and you like the basic look and feel of Ghost 2003, you might consider Image for DOS. http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/image.html

    It is very basic and has no eye candy, but it gets the job done. I have used it for almost 2 years (burning to DVD) and it has never failed me. I have restored from it many times (testing software and such.) One great feature is that you don't install it. It runs from the boot CD you create when you are first setting up. I highly recommend it!
    While away for a few days to see my Mom in Louisiana, I visited with my brother-in-law also. He was excited about a program that he has recently started using, and I'll be doggoned if isn't this same one that you are speaking of in this thread.

    While having used Ghost 2003 ever since it came out, and knowing that it will do backups in the Windows environment, I always preferred booting from a floppy and running the program in DOS. I'll have a look at this program and decide between it and Acronis. Thanks for the response!

    Limerick

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Armadillo Country
    Posts
    3,996
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperSparks
    I'm still using version 9 on both my PCs, which only have SATA drives in them, and there is no problem at all.
    Nick, thank you for the ultra-quick reply. One other question -- does Acronis ver 9 also do incremental and differential backups? Thanks!

    Limerick
    Last edited by Limerick; December 12th, 2006 at 07:26 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Armadillo Country
    Posts
    3,996

    Yet more on this issue...

    Last night, "just for kicks", I decided to boot from a floppy and try Ghost again. To my happy surprise, it worked fine. (This when using no command-line switches other than -auto.) Afterwards, I rebooted and tried it again, and again, it worked as desired. Just now tried it again, and once again there is complete success. What caused the blank screen that I mentioned a few days ago is indeed a mystery, and has caused me to rethink whether I need to obtain another disk imaging product...

    Since I've used Ghost for years (and know the product well), maybe I should just continue to use it. Still, I am intrigued by the other products that you good folks have testified about. Decisions, decisions...

    Limerick

    Last edited by Limerick; December 13th, 2006 at 03:46 AM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,393
    Quote Originally Posted by Limerick
    Nick, thank you for the ultra-quick reply. One other question -- does Acronis ver 9 also do incremental and differential backups? Thanks!

    Limerick

    Yes it does both

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Armadillo Country
    Posts
    3,996

    Resolved

    Quote Originally Posted by SuperSparks
    Yes it does both
    Thanks again for the reply, Nick. I just finished using Ghost 2003 on a secondary machine that has one SATA drive and one IDE drive. With no switches added to the command line, it performed flawlessly. Though I wish I knew what happened the other day when I got nothing but the blank screen, it looks like I'm past that now. In any case, I'll just stick with Ghost until I run into something that compels me to change programs...

    Again, I appreciate all who added to the thread.

    Limerick

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1
    I too had the blank screen problems with Ghost 2003, and was stumped. One day I figured I would try again and same thing. I left the room and came back and voila, it was ready for me. It seems it takes some time sometimes to go through whatever it is it does. Since its actually DOS that last statement makes sense. This was about ten minutes. My only quirk with it is sometimes it sees my SATA drives and others no. Go figure.

    I will try that f whatever it was switch and see if that works. Have to scroll back and see what it was.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Iowa, USA
    Posts
    3,264
    To get Ghost 2003 to work with SATA drives, you've got to install Ghost on your machine, do a "live update", then make your floppy or boot CD.

    That should take care of it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •