[Pro] PATH variable messed up
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [Pro] PATH variable messed up

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    US
    Posts
    185

    Exclamation [Pro] PATH variable messed up

    I was just about to run a ping and I got an error saying it was not an internal command. I tried ipconfig, same thing. I remember back a week ago I think I was fooling around with the PATH variable to add a GhostScript program to it. Can someone please tell me the default PATH variable? I want to make sure the essentials are in there. Also, do I add my own paths to the User variables section or the System variables?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Elma,Wa.
    Posts
    50,085
    The ping.exe command is an external command.

    ping localhost - Pings the local host, this will allow you to see if the computer is able to send information out and receive the information back. Note that this does not send information over a network but may allow you to see if the card is being seen.

    C:\Documents and Settings\yourname>ping localhost

    Pinging madjr [127.0.0.1] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    The rest are external

    Ping commands are at http://www.computerhope.com/pinghlp.htm
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Elma,Wa.
    Posts
    50,085
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    US
    Posts
    185
    Train,
    I guess I misled you. I understand ping, ipconfig, etc...
    I messed up my PATH environmental variable so I cannot run certain programs via the command prompt.
    I get the error:
    'ping' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

    When I originally posted, I just shortened the error. Anyway, I'd like a list of the default PATH variable so I can build it again.

    Right-click My Computer > Properties > Advanced > Environment Variables

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,407
    Windows\System32 is the default.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,407
    For the sake of completeness, here are all mine (I haven't changed anything from default):

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    D:\WINDOWS\system32>set
    ALLUSERSPROFILE=D:\Documents and Settings\All Users
    APPDATA=D:\Documents and Settings\NJS\Application Data
    CLIENTNAME=Console
    CommonProgramFiles=D:\Program Files\Common Files
    COMPUTERNAME=ARMOR2007
    ComSpec=D:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
    DEVMGR_SHOW_NONPRESENT_DEVICES=1
    FP_NO_HOST_CHECK=NO
    HOMEDRIVE=D:
    HOMEPATH=\Documents and Settings\NJS
    LOGONSERVER=\\ARMOR2007
    NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=2
    OS=Windows_NT
    Path=D:\WINDOWS\system32;D:\WINDOWS;D:\WINDOWS\System32\Wbem;"D:\Program Files\Z
    one Labs\ZoneAlarm\MailFrontier";D:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\AGL;D:\Prog
    ram Files\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Tools\binn\
    PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH
    PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=x86
    PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER=x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 6, GenuineIntel
    PROCESSOR_LEVEL=6
    PROCESSOR_REVISION=0f06
    ProgramFiles=D:\Program Files
    PROMPT=$P$G
    SESSIONNAME=Console
    SystemDrive=D:
    SystemRoot=D:\WINDOWS
    TEMP=D:\DOCUME~1\NJS\LOCALS~1\Temp
    TMP=D:\DOCUME~1\NJS\LOCALS~1\Temp
    tvdumpflags=8
    USERDOMAIN=ARMOR2007
    USERNAME=NJS
    USERPROFILE=D:\Documents and Settings\NJS
    VS80COMNTOOLS=G:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 2005\Common7\Tools\
    windir=D:\WINDOWS

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •