Spe.atdmt.com
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Spe.atdmt.com

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13

    Spe.atdmt.com

    For the last several days I have been getting a box that says that Macromedia Flash player has stopped a potentially unsafe operation. It continues that a local application is trying to communicate with spe.atdmt.com. Have run Lavasoft, updated Norton and run it, updated Spybot and run it and it still keeps appearing.

    Any idea what it is and how I can keep it from appearing?? The only new program I installed was Sidestep, and I uninstalled it today and the box still pops up whenever I check mail on AOL. Using Windows XP.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    20,749
    It looks like an ad server. So some program is trying to download an ad from that site.

    First try putting spe.atdmt.com in restricted sites in internet options/security in your browser and if that doesn't help put

    127.0.0.1 spe.atdmt.com
    into your hosts file... do a file search for "hosts" (not hosts.sam, just hosts) and open it with notepad and enter the line above into it, save and close.

    I'm not sure why Flashplayer is giving you that message though.... are you sure it's actually that program that's detecting the attempted communication?
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    animal lovers click here
    and here

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13
    That is what the box says" Macromedia Flash Player has stopped a potentially unsafe operation." It then goes on to say that a local application is trying to communicate with spe.atdmt.com. The first part of the message box says this:
    mad:\\CB682909-3ACB40A7-BFD1-245469C8C377\default.html.

    BTW, I am dumb as a stump about computers. Also, adding the spe.atdmt.com to restricted sites in IE did not work. I use AOL as ISP,altho they use IE, right??? I have no idea how to do the other thing (reference dumb as stump remark earlier)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13
    One more thing, it only comes up when I access AOL mailbox

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13
    It looks like putting the 127.0.0.1 spe.atdmt.com did the trick. Thanks so much for your help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3

    Cool http://spe.atdmt.com/

    I have no idea where host files are. Could you give me a clue? Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    20,749
    There is only one active hosts file in any operating system.

    If you do a file search for "hosts" (without the quotes). Not hosts.sam or anything else with hosts in it.. just hosts.

    You'll find it in these locations, depending on which operating system you use...

    Windows 95/98/Me c:\windows\hosts

    Windows NT/2000/XP Pro c:\winnt\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

    Windows XP Home c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

    Here are some more details on what it is and how to use it..

    http://accs-net.com/hosts/how_to_use_hosts.html
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    animal lovers click here
    and here

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3
    I have several hosts that come up when I search. hosts.sbs, hostsvr.dll, hosts.sam, webhostserv.tfs and several others.

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    20,749
    It's just hosts with no extension. Did you have a look in the path shown above that's applicable for your operating system?

    I dont recall it being a hidden windows file but go into windows explorer and click tools>folder options> view> show hidden files and folders.
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    animal lovers click here
    and here

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3
    I have 3 "hosts" without file extensions. I went through and followed the steps. I'll let you know if I get the message again. Thanks so very much!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1
    I am having the same problem and have not been successful at fixing it. I printed out all the pages from the thread and tried but without success. I to am dumb when it comes to the computer. Only smart when it works. I searched hosts, found many folders with Windows XP home c:\windows\system 32, etc. and then didn't know what to do from there. I went to find a place to type in problem and couldn't find any place to put it. I hope someone can help me. Thanks, Diana

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    20,749
    Welcome to Virtualdr. Have a look at these two pictures I attached. The first shows the search function finding the hosts file (grey hilited) and then double clicked to show the "open with" window with notepad grey hilited). Open the hosts file with notepad and it will look like the second pic with 127.0.0.1 spe.atdmt.com added to it.

    If your hosts file already has some other 127.0.0.1 xxxxxx
    entries just put the new one at the bottom of the list.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    animal lovers click here
    and here

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •