Newbie's wireless network problem :-(

Thread: Newbie's wireless network problem :-(

Unhappy Newbie's wireless network problem :-(

Hi,

I'm a newbie to wireless networking and have just set up 2 PCs on an ADSL connection via a US Robotics 8054 Wireless Broadband Router - one wired straight to the modem via ethernet connection and one via a wireless adapter (Belkin Wireless G USB Network Adapter). Both can access the net without a problem. However, I can't access the configuration utilty of the router, which apparently I should be able to do just by typing http://129.168.123.254 into a browser. I can't ping this address either. My wireless connection is unencrypted, and I need to access the router config utility to change the settings. The router manual is zero help, and US Robotics email "help" can't be bothered to reply (which is apparently normal!)

This is what I get when I type ipconfig /all (in case there are any clues here!):

C:\Documents and Settings\David>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : linguasc-160386
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adap
    ter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0B-6A-51-D8-EC

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin 54Mbps Wireless USB Network A
    dapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-50-6B-26-8E
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1