Blank Screen on some websites
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Blank Screen on some websites

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Colonia, NJ USA
    Posts
    276

    Angry Blank Screen on some websites

    I just started having a strange problem. When I go into some websites, such as Excite.com, Hotmail.com I can get to the website and it says "Done" at the bottom left of the screen but I get a blank screen except for one line on top. All other websites I have tried so far work OK. I just installed Mcafee virus scan before I noticed this problem. Someone told me I need to enable Java script. How do I do this.
    Please help.

  2. #2
    jenae is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,700
    Hi,To Enable Java Script for Internet Explorer
    _ 1. Open Internet Explorer Browser
    _ 2. Select Tools from main menu
    _ 3. Select Internet Options
    _ 4. Click on Security Tab
    _ 5. Choose Internet
    _ 6. Under Internet click the Custom Level command button
    _ 7. Select Scripting of Java Applets
    _ 8. Choose Enable
    _ 9. Click OK
    10. Click Apply
    11. Click OK

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Colonia, NJ USA
    Posts
    276
    Thanks Jenae, but that was not the problem. Java scripts are enabled but I still get the mostly blank screen.By blank I mean a white page with two lines of lettering on top.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    2,691
    "If" you have an ad/popup stopper/blocker program installed, you may try disabling it and then seeing if those site will show correctly. Just a thought.
    "Dreams are born in your heart and in your mind, only there can they ever die." - Art Berg

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Colonia, NJ USA
    Posts
    276
    Tried disabling popup killer but know luck

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    1,271
    You may want to try temporarily disabling McAffee, most modern AV apps also scan and block content like javascript or cookies, and it could be interfering with the sites you are trying to view. If that's the case, you may need to tweak the settings.

    Also, in the bottom corner where it says "Done", is there a blue Internet Explorer logo, or is there possibly a yellow triangular warning symbol? That could be indicative of scripting errors with the code that is making it through.

    Hope this helps...

    KV

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Colonia, NJ USA
    Posts
    276
    I have treid to disable McAfee but still have the same problem.
    I have made sure JavaScript is enabled. Also in the bottom left where it says done the is a blue IE logo and no triangular warning symbol. What other settings can I try tweaking.
    Also I tried to go to Control Panel in Settings and tried add remove programs and I get a similar White screen. I did this to try to remove Mcafee.
    What bothers me in some Website work fine like this one virtualdr.
    Help

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Colonia, NJ USA
    Posts
    276

    Thumbs up

    I reinstalled IE6 and all my problems have now been fixed.
    Can anyone explain. do you think that when I installed Mc Afee
    some settings in IE6 were changed?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •