SuperSparks
November 16th, 2007, 01:44 PM
See this video to see what the bad guys are doing with banner ads now:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lBUQqufZWc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lBUQqufZWc
|
Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Rogue banner ads SuperSparks November 16th, 2007, 01:44 PM See this video to see what the bad guys are doing with banner ads now: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lBUQqufZWc 104456 November 16th, 2007, 05:13 PM Yea ran into something similar the other day on the laptop.I kept getting a virus warning and a box asking me to select to download and run software a very odd situation given the blocking applications I use. I ended up getting rid of some spurious stuff with Spybot Search and Destroy (http://www.safer-networking.org/en/index.html) and all was well. SpywareDr November 16th, 2007, 07:48 PM Scary and irratating. Just added the following to my HOSTS file: 127.0.0.1 newbieadguide.com 127.0.0.1 fixthemnow.com 127.0.0.1 bsa.safetydownload.com Tuttle November 18th, 2007, 03:36 AM Yup, MalwareAlarm hit the local White Pages site last week as well. There's no such thing as "known" or "safe" sites, file types or email senders any more. You need to stay patched and be careful of everything. Syzich November 18th, 2007, 11:58 AM Just added the following to my HOSTS file: 127.0.0.1 newbieadguide.com 127.0.0.1 fixthemnow.com 127.0.0.1 bsa.safetydownload.com Ditto. Tuttle November 18th, 2007, 05:23 PM Well, if you want to approach it like that, the White Pages version used:mysurvey4u.com blessedads.com prevedmarketing.com scanner2.malware-scan.comI suspect you'll find a new set of URLs on a pretty regular basis. :) Welshjim November 19th, 2007, 03:57 PM All of these undesireable sites' URLs are in the HOSTS file provided by Mike Burgess http://www.mvps.org:80/winhelp2002/hosts.htm The first three URL's (in SpywareDr's post) were just added in today's HOSTS file from Mike. The latter four (in Tuttle's post) had been in previous versions. SpywareDr November 20th, 2007, 05:05 AM Thanks for the update Jim. virtualdr.com
Copyright WebMediaBrands Inc., All Rights Reserved. |