Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Beware on Spybot S&D updates (I think)
steve_83
August 24th, 2007, 09:16 AM
When I tried to see if any updates are available today for Spybot: I get this warning from Kaspersky that I'm being redirected to: old.ccrdude.net.
There are several warnings on the safer networking forums, and other sites when I googled that.
Maybe dangerous, maybe not? :confused:
Until someone determines what exactly this is, I would be careful.
Personally, I chose to block that site.
Any opinions from the resident experts much appreciated!
Steve_83
Platypus
August 24th, 2007, 11:34 AM
From here:
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r18833956-Re-Cant-get-to-safernetworkingorg-Cant-Update-Spybot-SD
appears to be shared hosting/mirroring:
"Results returned from whois.schlund.info:
domain: ccrdude.net
created: 15-Feb-2007
last-changed: 29-May-2007
registration-expiration: 15-Feb-2008
nserver: ns55.1und1.de
nserver: ns56.1und1.de
status: CLIENT-TRANSFER-PROHIBITED
registrant-firstname: Patrick Michael
registrant-lastname: Kolla
registrant-organization: Safer Networking Limited Inh: Patrick Michael Kolla
registrant-street1: Mill Road, Watson & Johnson Centre
registrant-pcode: 0000
registrant-state: CW
registrant-city: Greystones, County Wicklow
registrant-ccode: IE
registrant-phone: +353.12870707
registrant-fax: +353.12870707
registrant-email: webmaster@spybot.info
admin-c-firstname: Patrick Michael
admin-c-lastname: Kolla "
steve_83
August 24th, 2007, 02:32 PM
CLIENT-TRANSFER-PROHIBITED
I recognize the safer networking portion.
Does the above mean this is safe to allow or not, please?
Thanks for the reply, btw.
Creepy things like this give this surfer --> the creeps. ;)
Steve_83
Syzich
August 24th, 2007, 03:08 PM
Maybe that's a backup server of some sort? The name on the registrant info is the name of the main person behind Spybot. I updated and ran a scan with Spybot earlier today though, the only sites that my firewall reported that Spybot connected to were safer-networking.org and spybotupdates.com.
steve_83
August 24th, 2007, 05:16 PM
Thanks Syzich :)
I guess I won't sweat it next time, if that even happens.
I had just updated my Kaspersky Labs protection to version 7.0.0.125 so I figured I'd start getting a few of these warnings: I can't tell what 1/2 of them are without asking.
If someone walked up to you on the street and and said: "Schovst You Jack!"
What would your reaction be? :rolleyes:
Steve_83
Platypus
August 24th, 2007, 09:24 PM
I recognize the safer networking portion.
Does the above mean this is safe to allow or not, please?
Thanks for the reply, btw.
Creepy things like this give this surfer --> the creeps. ;)
Steve_83
No worries, sorry I wasn't able to get back on this sooner, sleepy time here in Australia! :)
The Client Transfer Prohibited is just an administrative status for the Domain Name:
"Transfer Prohibited: The domain name is restricted from being transferred to another registrar."
http://www.pir.org/Search/WhoisHelp.aspx
It looks to me like it is an alternative server, so I expect it should be safe.
virtualdr.com
Copyright WebMediaBrands Inc., All Rights Reserved.